Community >  Publications >  Bulletin Archive >  Bulletin 2011-2012 >  Sunday, May 13, 2012 > 
Sunday, May 13, 2012
Sunday, June 17, 2012
Sunday, June 10, 2012
Sunday, June 3, 2012
Sunday, May 27, 2012
Sunday, May 20, 2012
Sunday, May 13, 2012
Sunday, May 6, 2012
Sunday, April 29, 2012
Sunday, April 15, 2012
Sunday, April 8, 2012
Sunday, April 1, 2012
Sunday, March 25, 2012
Sunday, March 18, 2012
Sunday, March 11, 2012
Sunday, March 4, 2012
Sunday, February 19, 2012
Sunday, February 12, 2012
Sunday, February 5, 2012
Sunday, January 29, 2012
Sunday, January 22, 2012
Sunday, January 15, 2012
Sunday, January 8, 2012
Sunday, December 18, 2011
Sunday, December 11, 2011
Sunday, December 4, 2011
Sunday, November 27, 2011
Sunday, November 20, 2011
Sunday, November 13, 2011
Sunday, November 6, 2011
Sunday, October 30, 2011
Sunday, October 23, 2011
Sunday, October 16, 2011
Sunday, October 9, 2011
Sunday, October 2, 2011
Sunday, September 25, 2011
Sunday, September 18, 2011
Sunday, September 11, 2011
Sunday, September 4, 2011

  Sunday, May 13, 2012Volume MMXI-XII, Issue 33  
    
Waldorf Boutique Welcomes Your Donations!    
Please consider donating gently used children's clothing and Waldorf or wooden toys to our school for the sale at the Holiday Fair in December. Boxes are across from the Cafe and in the lobby of the Nursery building. To request a pick up of bulky items, or if you cannot make it into the school, please contact Ann Wiedie at 508-981-9151.
Workshop: Star Child Doll    

Would you like to make a sweet little doll for your loved one? This week and next week, we will be making a 6” Star Child using Joy’s Waldorf Dolls pattern on May 15 &16, and 22 & 23, 8:30-10 a.m. (Tuesdays), 8:30-11:00 a.m. (Wednesdays). Cost for the workshop is $10 (to cover the materials). For more information or registration, please call Homespun at 781-862-1829 or email Homespun.  Spaces are limited to ten participants, so please register ASAP.

Upcoming Events at Waldorf    
6th Grade class evening, 7:30 p.m.
 
Tuesday, May 15
Waldorf Park Concord, 9:30 a.m.
 
Wednesday, May 16
Waldorf Park Arlington, 9:30 a.m.
Evergreen Kindergarten class evening, 6:30 p.m.
Joint Transitional Nursery and Nursery classes evening, 7 p.m.
 
Friday, May 18
Waldorf Park, 1 p.m.
8th Grade Musical, 7 p.m.
 
Saturday, May 19
8th Grade Musical, 7 p.m.
 
Monday, May 21
7th Grade class evening, 7:30 p.m.
 
Tuesday, May 22
Waldorf Park Concord, 9:30 a.m.
Board Officer Committee meeting, 6 p.m.
Finance Committee meeting, 7 p.m.
4th Grade class evening, 7 p.m.
 
Wednesday, May 23
Waldorf Park Arlington, 9:30 a.m.
Foundation Studies, 5 p.m.
 
Thursday, May 24
Sunflower Kindergarten class evening, 7 p.m.
Blue Sky Kindergarten class evening, 7 p.m.
 
Friday, May 25
Waldorf Park, 1 p.m.
Events in the Larger Waldorf Community    
There are many anthroposophical events in the Boston area and beyond that support and enliven what we do here at school. Please click "read more" above for frequently updated information and resources from the Anthroposophical Society of Greater Boston, AWSNA, The Pfeiffer Center, and others.
Community Classifieds    
Remember to check the public Community Classifieds page on the school's website every week for information about any items of more general interest: music lessons, professional services, items for sale, workshops and more.  To submit an item, use the online submission form.
Bulletin Submissions    
If you would like to submit an item to the Bulletin, please email Megan Curtis by Wednesday for it to appear in that week's edition.
In this week's edition:    
  • Fourth Grade Animal Block
  • Come to the Eighth Grade Musical Next Weekend
  • Announcing Next Year's First Grade Teacher
  • Playground Appeal Thank You
  • Alumni Performance
  • Faculty in the News
  • Bike Path Cleanup Thank You
Fourth Grade Animal Block    
Fourth grade in the Waldorf curriculum brings the animal main lesson block when the children experience more distance from the people and the world around them.  The imaginative faculties are still deeply drawn by a story, but the content now needs a sharper definition: descriptions of the living world which combine accurate detail with a sense of the character of the animals and the environment in which they live. The characterization of a cow, for instance, can allow the particular quality of the animals to emerge from the details of its physical form, its movements, its diet, and its whole way of life.  The gaze, the chewing, the chambered stomach and digestive power--all these characteristics do more than define the cow as an "herbivorous mammal."  They allow a feeling relationship to the cow--a healthy union of artistic, feeling faculty, and exact observation.
(Excerpted from The Educational Tasks and Content of the Steiner Waldorf Curriculum)
A recent reptilian visitor to the fourth grade
Come to the Eighth Grade Musical Next Weekend    

One of the beloved traditions at our school takes place at the end of the eighth grade: the annual musical.  This weekend, the eighth graders will be presenting Honk!, an interpretation of the Hans Christian Andersen fairy tale The Ugly Duckling. The eighth grade has been working hard to get it ready for opening night, and the whole community is invited to attend the performances this Friday, May 18 and Saturday, May 19, both at 7 p.m.  There is also a morning performance for the students on Friday.  We hope you will join us!  Children are warmly welcomed.

Announcing Next Year's First Grade Teacher    
The school is pleased to announce the hiring of the first grade teacher for the class of 2020, Ms. Elizabeth Reading. Ms. Reading brings a compelling complement of gifts to our school, and we are delighted she has accepted the position.  She has extensive teaching experience, which includes her years here at the Waldorf School of Lexington, where she has been a handwork teacher as well as handwork assistant to Kathy Aluia.   She has also been a first and second grade assistant for the past four years; she is currently assissting Ms. Svilokos in the second grade.  Ms. Reading has also coached our middle school girls’ basketball team.  Liz and her family live in Arlington. Her daughter Sarah Schnebly ('08) will graduate in June from the Cambridge School of Weston, and will attend Kenyon College in the fall. Her son Paul Schnebly ('11) currently attends Lawrence Academy.  We are confident that the students and families of the Class of 2020 will benefit profoundly from Liz’s experience and talent.  Help us welcome her into her new role at our school!
Playround Appeal Thank You    
Excitement is in the air for the Special Appeal Playground project!  We would like to take this opportunity to thank all who contributed to it. Because of your generosity, we are able to provide the best possible playground equipment and design for our students. From the faculty staff and students, thank you to all!
To make a donation online to the Special Appeal Playground, please visit our website.  Check “Please direct my gift to the Playground Fund” in the online form. Or you can mail your check to the school, attention Linda Mack, Interim Director of Development. Gifts of any size are much appreciated. Any questions?  Please email Linda Mack or call her at extension 564.
Alumni Performance    
Ajanta Malhi ('08) and Julia Martin ('08) will be performing as Gwendolen Fairfax and Algernon Moncrieff in the Waldorf High School's senior class presentation of Oscar Wilde’s The Importance of Being Earnest.  The twelfth grade of Waldorf High School of Massachusetts Bay warmly invites you to an evening of farce and wit, on Thursday, May 24 and Friday, May 25 at 7 p.m., directed by Mary Ann Wells.  During the play you will discover just what is meant by “Bunburying”; who is Ernest in town and Jack in the country; that the truth is rarely pure and never simple; that in matters of grave importance, style, not sincerity, is the vital thing; that all man’s useless information, wonderful as it is, is nothing compared to the instinct of a good woman; and it is a terrible thing for a man to find out suddenly that all his life he has been speaking nothing but the truth!
Faculty in the News    
Maurice Sendak, beloved children's author and illustrator, best known for his book Where the Wild Things Are, passed away on May 8. He also worked for television and the theater and excelled as a narrator, if you judge by his recording of “Pincus and the Pig.” He recorded the story with music, with the Shirim Klezmer Orchestra, a Boston based Klezmer band. Glenn Dickson, Waldorf School of Lexington winds teacher, is the band’s clarinettist. Follow this link for an interview with Glenn where he tells The World’s Marco Werman about his experience recording “Pincus and the Pig” with Sendak.
Bike Path Cleanup Thank You    
Many thanks to all who came to help clear out the railings along the bikepath--the first grade appreciates the beautiful space for their balance beam walks with Ms. Cody and Ms. Witteveen!
    

For more information about the Waldorf School of Lexington, please visit our website: www.thewaldorfschool.org

You can also "like" us on Facebook!
search login